|
|
|
American History
|
This guide suggests resources and strategies for research on the subject
of American history.
|
|
Contents of this research guide
|
Background Information | Facts & Figures | Find
Articles | Find Books | Criticism & Reviews | Primary Sources | People
| Organizations | Web Resources | Additional
Resources
|
|
|
|
|
|
Background
Information (Overview Sources)
|
Encyclopedias and other reference works are an excellent place to start a
research project or simply learn more about a particular topic. They
provide topic summaries, context, and bibliographies for further reading.
The American Revolution, 1775-1783: An Encyclopedia (R 973.303
Am35)
Americans at War (R 973 Am35212)
Encyclopedia of African American History 1619-1895 (R 973.0496073
En184)
Dictionary of American History (R 973.03 D561)
Encyclopedia of American Social History (R 301.0973 En19)
Encyclopedia of Indians of the Americas (R 970.103 En19)
Encyclopedia of the American Civil War (R 973.703 En197)
Encyclopedia of the American West (R 978 En19)
Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century (R 973.5
En19)
Encyclopedia of the United States in the Twentieth Century (R 973.003
En19)
Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War (R 959.703 En19)
The New Encyclopedia of the American West (R 978.003 R227 1998)
The
Oxford Companion to American Military History
The
Oxford Companion to United States History
|
|
[go to top
of page]
|
|
|
|
Facts & Figures (Fact Sources)
|
Use dictionaries, statistical works, atlases, handbooks and similar
works to find and check facts about topics, people, or events.
American Decades (R 973.92 Am352)
The American Years (R 973.0202 G9141a2)
American Eras (R 973 Am3523)
The Civil War Day by Day: An Almanac 1861-1865 (R 973.7 L85c)
Handbook of American Women's History (305.40973 H191)
The
Oxford Guide to United States Supreme Court Decisions
The Timetables of History (R 902.02 G923t3)
|
|
[go to top
of page]
|
|
|
|
Find Articles
|
Search indexes, abstracts, and databases to find journal, magazine, and
newspaper articles. For a complete list of Kent Library's online
indexes and databases, see the Find: articles
page (http://library.semo.edu/find/articles.asp).
To find historical/source materials, such as newspaper and
magazine articles, use the following print sources:
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature, 1900+
(located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
Humanities Index, 1974+
(located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
Social Sciences and Humanities Index, 1966-1974
(located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
International Index to Periodicals, 1907-1966
(located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
Combined Retrospective Index to Journals in History 1838-1974
(located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-1906
(located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
New York Times Index, 1851+
(located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
To find recent articles and scholarly/peer-reviewed articles use the
following online databases:
Academic Search Premier
America: History and Life
GPO
JSTOR
Project Muse
Proquest Research Library
Wilson OmniFile
|
|
[go to top
of page]
|
|
|
|
Find Books
|
Use the Kent Library
Catalog (http://library.semo.edu/find/books.shtml) to find books,
periodicals (journals, magazines, & newspapers), videos, government
documents and other materials.
Keyword searches allow you to use your own words as search terms.
Subject heading searches use Library of Congress subject headings.
Printed volumes of these headings are located near the Reference Desk on
the main floor.
Some History subject headings include:
African-Americans--History
History
Indians of North America--History
Missouri--History
United States--History
Women--History
|
Browse the shelves by call number. Use the Dewey Decimal
chart (http://library.semo.edu/learn/guides/dewey100.shtml) to get you
in the right subject areas or try the following:
History of North America 970s
United States History 973.312
|
|
[go to top
of page]
|
|
|
|
Criticism & Reviews
|
Book Review Digest (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
Book Review Index (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Scholarly Journals,
1886-1974 (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
|
|
[go to top
of page]
|
|
|
|
Primary Sources
|
Historic Documents (R 973 H6294)
Report of the President's Commission on the Assassination of President John
F. Kennedy (Pr36.8:K38/R29)
The War of the Rebellion: A Compilation of the Official Records of the
Union and Confederate Armies (W45.5)
|
|
[go to top
of page]
|
|
|
|
People
|
Learn about important people,
such as authors, researchers & historical figures related to this topic
or field.
American National Biography (R 920.073 Am347)
Biography Index (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
Contemporary Authors (928 C7672)
Dictionary of American Biography (R 920.073 D561)
Dictionary of Literary Biography (928.1 D561)
Directory of American Scholars (R 923.7 D628)
The National Cyclopaedia of American Biography (R 920.073 N213)
|
|
[go to top
of page]
|
|
|
|
Organizations
|
Professional organizations and/or societies often provide very useful topic
related information.
American Historical Association
(http://www.historians.org)
National Archives and Records
Administration
(http://www.nara.gov)
Organization of American Historians
(http://www.oah.org)
|
|
[go to top
of page]
|
|
|
|
Web Resources
|
AMDOCS: Documents for the Study of
American History
(http://www.vlib.us/amdocs/)
American Civil War
(http://www.civilwar.com)
American Memory
(http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/amhome.html)
The History
Page
(http://www.scholiast.org/history/index.html)
Making of
America
(http://cdl.library.cornell.edu/moa/index.html)
National
Archive Information Locator
(http://www.archives.gov/research_room/arc/index.html)
|
For a list of Web searching
tools, see the Find:
web resources page (http://library.semo.edu/find/webpages.html).
|
|
[go to top
of page]
|
|
|
Additional Resources
|
CQ Researcher Plus Archive
(this database is available through the library's web
page)
Dissertation Abstracts
(this database is available through the library's web page)
Editorials on File
(located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
Facts on File
(located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
Facts.com
(this database is available through the library's web
page)
|
|
[go to top of page]
|
|
|
|
page developed by Information
Services/cp
last updated: 5/2/08
|