| |
Agriculture is defined as the
science, art, or practice of cultivating the soil, producing crops,
and raising livestock, and, in varying degrees, the preparation and
marketing of the resulting products. |
|
| |
|
|
| |
Degree programs in Agriculture
address the disciplines of agribusiness, agronomy, animal science, and
horticulture, and prepare students for careers in such divers fields
as pest management, swine production or golf course management. |
|
| |
|
|
| |
|
|
| |
Background Information |
Facts and Figures |
Databases |
Government Publications | Books and Other Cataloged
Materials |
Professional Associations | Web Resources | |
|
| |
|
|
| |
|
|
| |
Encyclopedias and other reference
works are an excellent place to start a research project, or to learn more about a particular topic. They provide topical summaries, place given topics in context with related topics, and often provide bibliographies for further reading.
Older works often are classic editions or
provide valuable historical perspectives,
while current titles reflect the latest
research and practices. |
|
| |
|
|
| |
Encyclopedia of
Agricultural, Food, and Biological
Engineering [2003]
(R
664.003 En1892)
Turfgrass Encyclopedia
for Golf Courses, Grounds, Lawns, Sports
Fields
[2005] (R 635.9642 B38t)
Encyclopedia of Water Science
[2003]
(R 627.03 En198)
Encyclopedia of Agricultural Science [1994]
(R 630.3 En19)
Encyclopedia of American Agricultural History
[1975]
Black's Veterinary Dictionary (R
636.0890321 B567 1985)
Cyclopedia of American Agriculture; A Popular Survey of
| |
Agricultural
Conditions, Practices and Ideas in the United States and Canada
[1912] (R630 B153) |
|
|
| |
|
|
| |
[return
to top] |
|
| |
|
|
| |
|
|
| |
Atlases
|
|
| |
Atlas of American Agriculture: The
American Cornucopia [1996]
|
|
|
Atlas of Antebellum
Southern Agriculture [1984]
| |
| |
Atlas of American
Agriculture: Physical Basis Including Land
| |
Relief, Climate, Soils, and
Natural Vegetation of the United States
[1936] (R Atlases
630 Un3) |
|
|
| |
World Atlas of
Agriculture [1969- ] (R912.163 W893) |
|
| |
|
|
| |
Statistical Sources
|
|
| |
Agricultural
Statistics [2002-2004] (R630 Un3) |
|
| |
Handbook of U.S.
Labor Statistics: Employment, Earnings,
| |
Prices, Productivity, and
Other Data [2003] (R331.0973 H1912) |
|
|
| |
Datapedia of the
United States: American History in Numbers
[2004]
| |
| |
Historical
Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to
|
|
| |
Missouri Farm Facts
(R633.009778 M691) |
|
| |
Statistical Abstract
for Missouri (R317.78 St29) |
|
| |
Statistical Abstract
of the United States (R317 Un3) |
|
| |
Statistical Yearbook
[United Nations] (R 310 Un2) |
|
| |
|
|
| |
[return
to top] |
|
| |
|
|
| |
|
|
| |
Kent Library subscribes
to a wide range of databases which provide access to journal articles
in subjects across the curriculum. The following are
particularly useful in the study of agriculture: |
|
| |
|
|
| |
| |
Agricola |
The database of the National
Agricultural Library, it provides indexing for journal articles,
books, and government documents. |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
| |
Wilson Omnifile |
A full-text database, it
includes indexing, abstracts, and full text for a good share of
the articles indexed in the Biological and Agricultural Index,
which covers such topics as Agricultural Chemicals, Agricultural
Economics, Agriculture, Animal Husbandry, Biochemistry, Biology,
Biotechnology, Botany, Cytology, Ecology, Entomology,
Environmental Science, Fishery Sciences, Food Science, Forestry,
Genetics, Horticulture, Immunology, Limnology, Microbiology,
Neuroscience, Nutrition, Physiology, Plant Pathology, Soil
Science, Veterinary Medicine, and Zoology. |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
| |
BasicBIOSIS |
Subsumed under FirstSearch, it
indexes core journals in the life sciences. Also subsumed
under FirstSearch, it is the database of the United States. |
|
|
| |
|
|
| |
| |
GPO |
Government Printing Office, and
provides indexing for government publications of all types and on
all subjects. |
|
|
| |
|
|
| |
[return
to top] |
|
| |
|
|
| |
|
|
| |
Kent Library has extensive
collections of government publications from both the federal government and the state of Missouri. In recent years, these
materials have been included in the Library's online catalog. Federal
documents published since July of 1976 can be identified using the GPO database (see above).
Materials published prior to that time must be identified using a variety of printed indexes.
Separate indexing exists for Missouri documents prior to their inclusion in the online catalog. For
assistance in locating any of these materials, contact the Reference Desk. |
|
| |
|
|
| |
Examples of federal documents:
|
|
| |
Highly
Pathogenic Avian Influenza: A Threat to U.S. Poultry
|
|
| |
The
Principal Laws Relating to Forest Service State and
| |
Private Forestry Programs
(A 13.2:P 93/5) |
|
|
| |
Research, Education & Economics: Science: The
| |
Foundation of Agriculture
(A 77.2:SCI 2) |
|
|
| |
Information for Small Farmers and Ranchers
|
|
| |
21st
Century Agriculture: A Critical Role for Science and
|
|
| |
Agriculture in Antebellum St. Louis: A Special History Study
|
|
| |
|
|
| |
Examples of Missouri documents:
|
|
| |
Missouri
Agriculture: A Statistical Snapshot, Including the
| |
Missouri Department of
Agriculture's Annual Report
(MO/AG.St 8/2:2001) |
|
|
| |
Missouri
Agritourism Guide (MO/GA.Ma :AG
8/2:2001) |
|
| |
Working
Youth in Agriculture: A Guide to Safe and
| |
Responsible Practices for
Employment of Youth in Agriculture
(Mo/LI.La 2:W 89/2) |
|
|
| |
|
|
| |
[return
to top] |
|
| |
|
|
| |
|
|
| |
Kent
Library's online catalog includes books, government documents, video
and audio recordings, and other types of materials. Examples of
Library of Congress subject headings which are useful in searching for
agriculture-related materials include: |
|
| |
|
Agriculture |
|
| |
|
Agroforestry |
|
| |
|
Agronomy |
|
| |
|
Aquaculture |
|
| |
|
Botany, economic |
|
| |
|
Crop improvement |
|
| |
|
Dry farming |
|
| |
|
Farm produce |
|
| |
|
Farmers |
|
| |
|
Horticulture |
|
| |
|
Irrigation farming |
|
| |
|
Livestock |
|
| |
|
No-tillage |
|
| |
|
Organic farming |
|
| |
|
Pastures |
|
| |
|
Plant breeding |
|
| |
|
Plants, cultivated |
|
| |
|
Plowing |
|
| |
|
Shifting cultivation |
|
| |
|
Soil management |
|
| |
|
Soil science |
|
| |
|
Sustainable
agriculture |
|
| |
|
Tillage |
|
| |
|
|
|
| |
The names
of specific crop plants or types of livestock are also searchable as
subject headings. Books dealing with agriculture will generally
be found in the following call number areas: |
|
| |
|
|
| |
|
630 Agriculture
and related technologies |
|
| |
|
631 Techniques,
equipment & materials |
|
| |
|
632 Plant
injuries, diseases & pests |
|
| |
|
633 Field &
plantation crops |
|
| |
|
634 Orchards,
fruits & forestry |
|
| |
|
635 Garden crops
(Horticulture) |
|
| |
|
636 Animal
husbandry |
|
| |
|
637 Processing
dairy & related products |
|
| |
|
638 Insect
culture |
|
| |
|
639 Hunting,
fishing & conservation |
|
| |
|
|
| |
[return
to top] |
|
| |
|
|
| |
|
|
| |
ACDI/VOCA
http://www.acdivoca.org |
|
| |
|
|
| |
The
Agribusiness Council
http://www.agribusinesscouncil.org |
|
| |
|
|
| |
American
Agricultural Economics Association
http://www.aaea.org |
|
| |
|
|
| |
American
Society of Agricultural Consultants
http://www.agconsultants.org |
|
| |
|
|
| |
National Agri-Marketing
Association
http://www.nama.org |
|
| |
|
|
| |
National
Association of Agricultural Educators
http://www.naae.org |
|
| |
|
|
| |
American
Society of Agricultural Engineers
http://asae.org |
|
| |
|
|
| |
Agricultural Retailers Association
http://www.aradc.org |
|
| |
|
|
| |
American
Society of Agronomy
http://www.agronomy.org |
|
| |
|
|
| |
Crop
Science Society of America
http://www.crops.org |
|
| |
|
|
| |
[return
to top] |
|
| |
|
|
| |
|
|
| |
Open Access Databases
|
|
| |
American
Agricultural Law Association
http://www.aglaw-assn.org |
|
| |
|
|
| |
National
Agricultural Library
http://www.nalusda.gov |
|
| |
|
|
| |
Food and
Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
http://www.fao.org/waicent |
|
| |
|
|
| |
FAOSTAT
http://apps.fao.org/default.jsp |
|
| |
|
|
| |
SINGER
(System-wide Information Network for Genetic Resources)
http://singer.cgiar.org |
|
| |
|
|
| |
Southwest
Biotechnology and Informatics Center
http://www.swbic.org |
|
| |
|
|
| |
FAO Country Profiles and Mapping
Information System
http://www.fao.org/countryprofiles/default.asp?lang=en |
|
| |
|
|
| |
National Ag
Safety Database
http://www.cdc.gov/nasd |
|
| |
|
|
| |
Web pages
|
|
| |
United
States Department of Agriculture
http://www.usda.gov |
|
| |
|
|
| |
2002 Census of
Agriculture
http://www.nass.usda.gov/census |
|
| |
|
|
| |
Agricultural Statistics
http://www.usda.gov/nass/pubs/agstats.htm |
|
| |
|
|
| |
AgNIC: Agriculture
Network Information Center
http://www.central.agnic.org |
|
| |
|
|
| |
Consultative Group on International Agricultural Research
http://www.cgiar.org |
|
| |
|
|
| |
Board on
Agriculture and Natural Resources
http://dels.nas.edu/banr/ |
|
| |
|
|
| |
Agriculture
21
http://www.fao.org/ag/ |
|
| |
|
|
| |
American
Livestock Breeds Conservancy
http://www.albc-usa.org |
|
| |
|
|
| |
Breeds of
Livestock
http://www.ansi.okstate.edu/breeds |
|
| |
|
|
| |
Bovine
Spongiform Encephalopathy (BSE)
http://www.fda.gov/oc/opacom/hottopics/bse.html |
|
| |
|
|
| |
Bovine
Spongiform Encephalopathy (BSE)
http://www.aphis.usda.gov/lpa/issues/bse/bse.html |
|
| |
|
|
| |
UC SAREP Cover Crop Resource
Page
http://www.sarep.ucdavis.edu/ccrop |
|
| |
|
|
| |
ERS
Economic Research Service
http://www.ers.usda.gov |
|
| |
|
|
| |
World
Census of Agriculture
http://www.fao.org/es/ESS/census |
|
| |
|
|
| |
Agricultural Research Service
http://www.ars.usda.gov/research/research.htm |
|
| |
|
|
| |
Agricultural Research
Service Image Gallery
http://www.ars.usda.gov/is/graphics/photos/ |
|
| |
|
|
| |
Agricultural Research
Service Video Archive
http://www.ars.usda.gov/is/video/ |
|
| |
|
|
| |
Board on
Agriculture and Natural Resources
http://dels.nas.edu/banr |
|
| |
|
|
| |
Center for
Sustaining Agriculture and Natural Resources
http://csanr.wsu.edu |
|
| |
|
|
| |
National
Pesticide Information Center (NPIC)
http://npic.orst.edu |
|
| |
|
|
| |
EXTOXNET - The EXtension
TOXicology NETwork
http://extoxnet.orst.edu/ghindex.html |
|
| |
|
|
| |
Rebuilding Agriculture &
Food Security in Iraq
http://www.fas.usda.gov/excredits/iraq.htm |
|
| |
|
|
| |
BANR: Board on
Agriculture and Natural Resources
http://dels.nas.edu/banr/ |
|
| |
|
|
| |
[return
to top] |
|
| |
|
|
| |
page
developed by
Information Services/PW
last updated 5/11/2005
|
|