.

 

Advertising

This guide suggests resources for research in the field of advertising and related fields.  See also Industry InformationMass Communication, and Marketing research guides.

Contents of this research guide

Background Information  |  Facts & Figures  |  Find Articles  |  Find Books  |  People  |  Organizations  |  Web Resources 


Background Information (Overview Sources)

Encyclopedias and other reference works are an excellent place to start a research project or simply learn more about a particular topic.  They provide topic summaries, context, and bibliographies for further reading.  Sources with call #s preceded by R, are located in Kent Reference, third floor.

Advertising Layout (video) IM Center IM/VC8629
The Color Compendium R 658.8270973 T6752
Communication Arts Kent Current Periodicals
Communication Yearbook Kent Stacks  001.505 C737
Defining Visual Rhetorics Kent Stacks  302.23 D3618
Design, Form, and Chaos Kent Stacks  741.6 R156d
Encyclopedia of Advertising R 659.103 Ad964
Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics R 170.3 En182
Handbook of Public Relations Kent Stacks  659.2 H19171
Handbook of Visual Analysis Kent Stacks  302.23 H19178

 

[go to top of page]
 
Facts & Figures (Fact Sources)

Use dictionaries, statistical works, atlases, handbooks and similar works to find and check facts about topics, people, or events.  Sources with call #s preceded by R, are located in Kent Reference, third floor.

Adweek fulltext via E Journal Portal
Advertising Age fulltext via E Journal Portal
Brand Week fulltext via E Journal Portal
Broadcasting & Cable Yearbook R 384.540973 B78311
Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns R 659.10973 En196
Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media R 070 Ay2414
[go to top of page]
 
Find Articles

Search indexes, abstracts, and databases to find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.  For a complete list of Kent Library's online indexes and databases & to access these online resources, see the Find: articles page (http://library.semo.edu/find/articles.asp).

To find articles and scholarly/peer-reviewed articles use the following print indexes and online databases:

ABI/Inform 
business information
library subscription database
Academic Search Premier 
multidisciplinary database
library subscription database
Business Source Premier
industry & business information
library subscription database
Communication & Mass Media Complete library subscription database
Communication Abstracts (1978-1997) in Periodical Index area
E Journal Portal   - gateway to "shelves" of full text journals & magazines library subscription resources
Full text advertising-related journals & magazines library subscription resources
Project Muse 
humanities & social sciences full text journals
library subscription database
PsycInfo library subscription database
Westlaw
law reviews, cases, statutes, regulations; business news & articles
library subscription database
Wilson Web OmniFile
includes Art Index, Humanities Index & Social Sciences Index
library subscription database

 

[go to top of page]
 
Find General Collection Books

Use the Kent Library Catalog (http://library.semo.edu/find/books.shtml) to find books, periodicals (journals, magazines, & newspapers), videos, government documents and other materials.

Keyword searches allow you to use your own words as search terms.
Subject heading searches use Library of Congress subject headings.

Browse the shelves by Dewey Decimal call number. 

070s  journalism, publishing, news media
302s  includes mass media, & interpersonal, small group, & visual communication
303s  intercultural communication
342s-345s  freedom of the press, mass media law
384s  broadcasting
650s  advertising, organizational communication, public relations
740s-770s   drawing, painting, graphic & computer art, photography
791s  tv, radio, film, video
 

[go to top of page]
 
People

Learn about important people, such as authors, researchers & historical figures related to this topic or field.

The Ad Men and Women: a Biographical Dictionary of Advertising R 926.591 Ad1
Women in Communication: a Biographical Source R 920.72 W8422

 

[go to top of page]
 
Organizations

Professional organizations and/or societies often provide very useful topic related information.

American Advertising Federation
American Association of Advertising Agencies
Association of National Advertisers
Interactive Advertising Bureau (IAB)
National Communication Association
 

[go to top of page]
 
Web Resources


The Ad Council
Adforum
Advertising Educational Foundation
Advertising Media Internet Center (AMIC)
AdPrin (Evidenced-based Advertising)
Advertising Resources (from the University of Iowa)
Advertising World (from University of Texas-Austin)
Nielsen
paintedcows.com - The Advertising and Marketing Resource
Visual Communication - Visual Rhetorics (from the University of Iowa)
Who Owns What (media ownership)

For a list of Web searching tools, see the Find: web searching tools page (http://library.semo.edu/find/webpages.shtml).

[go to top of page]
page developed by Information Services/ CAR
created 4/05, last updated: 11/10/09