|
|
|
Philosophy
|
This guide suggests resources and strategies for research on Philosophy.
|
|
Contents of this research guide
|
Background
Information | Facts
& Figures | Find
Articles | Find
Books | Criticism
& Reviews | Primary
Sources | People
| Organizations
| Web
Resources
|
|
|
|
|
Background
Information (Overview Sources)
|
Encyclopedias and other reference works are an excellent place to start
a research project or simply learn more about a particular topic.
They provide topic summaries, context, and bibliographies for further
reading.
Companion Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy (181 C738)
Companion to Metaphysics (R 110.3 C738)
Concise Encyclopedia of Western Philosophy and Philosophers (190.3
C748)
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (R 111.8503 En19)
Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics (R 170.3 En182)
Encyclopedia of Bioethics (174.95703 En193)
Encyclopedia of Classical Philosophy (180.3 En19)
Encyclopedia of Ethics (R 170.3 En19)
Encyclopedia of Philosophy (103 En19)
The
Oxford Companion to Philosophy (R 100.3 Ox2)
Philosophy of Education: An Encyclopedia (R 370.1 P5493)
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy (R 100 R765)
|
|
[go
to top of page]
|
|
|
|
Facts & Figures (Fact Sources)
|
Use dictionaries, statistical works, atlases, handbooks and similar
works to find and check facts about topics, people, or events.
Adler's Philosophical Dictionary (R 103
Ad59a)
Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy (R 103 C144)
Dictionary of American Philosophy (R 921.03 N224d)
Greek Philosophical Terms: A Historical Lexicon (103 P442g)
Legal and Ethical Dictionary for Mental Health Professionals (R
344.04403 Ah41l)
The
Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy (R 103 B562o)
|
|
[go
to top of page]
|
|
|
|
Find Articles
|
Search indexes, abstracts, and databases to find journal, magazine, and
newspaper articles. For a complete list of Kent Library's online
indexes and databases, see the Find: articles
page (http://library.semo.edu/find/articles.asp).
To find historical/source materials, such as newspaper and
magazine articles,, use the following print sources:
Philosophers' Index, 1967+
(located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
Social Science and Humanities Index, 1966-1974
(located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
Humanities Index, 1974+
(located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
International Index to Periodicals, 1907 - 1966
(located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
New York Times Index, 1851+
(located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
Official Index to the Times & The Times Index, 1906+
(located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature, 1900+
(located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
To find recent articles and scholarly/peer-reviewed articles use the
following online databases:
Academic Search Premier
ArticleFirst )
Electric Library
Iter
JSTOR
MEDLINE
Project Muse
ProQuest Research Library
PsychINFO
Wilson OmniFile
|
|
[go
to top of page]
|
|
|
|
Find General Collection Books
|
Use the Kent
Library Catalog (http://library.semo.edu/find/books.shtml) to find
books, periodicals (journals, magazines, & newspapers), videos,
government documents and other materials.
Keyword searches allow you to use your own words as search terms.
Subject heading searches use Library of Congress subject headings.
Printed volumes of these headings are located near the Reference Desk on
the main floor.
Some subject headings include -
Ethics
Logic
Logic, Ancient
Logic, Medieval
Logic, Modern
Medical ethics
Philosophers
Philosophers, Ancient
Philosophers, Medieval
Philosophers, Modern
Philosophy
Philosophy, Ancient
Philosophy, Asian
Philosophy, Modern
Philosophy and religion
Philosophy and science
|
Browse the shelves by call number. Use the Dewey Decimal
chart (http://library.semo.edu/learn/guides/dewey100.shtml) to get
you in the right subject areas or try the following:
100 - Standard divisions of philosophy
110 - Metaphysics
120 - Epistemology, causation, humankind
130 - Paranormal phenomena
140 - Specific philosophical schools
150 - Psychology
160 - Logic
170 - Ethics
180 - Ancient, medieval, Oriental philosophy
190 - Modern western philosophy
921 - Biographies of philosophy
|
|
[go
to top of page]
|
|
|
|
Criticism & Reviews
|
Book Review Digest, 1905+
(located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
Book Review Index, 1965+
(located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
Index To Book Reviews In The Humanities, 1961-1990
(located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
|
|
[go
to top of page]
|
|
|
|
Primary Sources
|
Collections of writings include:
Classical Philosophy: Collected Papers (180
C569)
Masterpieces of World Philosophy (108.2 M272m)
Readings in Medieval Philosophy (189
R227)
Treasury of Philosophy (108.2 R872)
|
|
[go
to top of page]
|
|
|
|
People
|
Learn about important people, such as authors, researchers & historical
figures related to this topic or field.
American Philosophers Before 1950 (928.1
D561 v.270)
American Philosophers, 1950-2000 (928.1
D561 v.279)
Biographical Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Philosophers (R 921
B52)
British Philosophers, 1500-1799 (928.1 D561 v.252)
British Philosophers, 1800-2000 (928.1 D561 v.262)
Dictionary of American Philosophy (R 921.03 N224d)
Fifty Major Philosophers: A Reference Guide (R 921 C697f)
Medieval Philosophers (928.1 D561 v.115)
|
|
[go
to top of page]
|
|
|
|
Organizations
|
Professional organizations and/or societies often provide very useful
topic related information.
American
Philosophical Association
(http://www.apa.udel.edu/apa/index.html)
Society for Philosophical Inquiry
(http://www.philosopher.org)
Society for Women in
Philosophy
(http://www.uh.edu/~cfreelan/SWIP)
|
|
[go
to top of page]
|
|
|
|
Web Resources
|
Dictionary of
Philosophical Terms and Names
(http://www.philosophypages.com/dy)
English Server: Philosophy
(http://eserver.org/philosophy)
EpistemeLinks.com: Philosophy
Resources on the Internet
(http:://www.epistemelinks.com)
Ethics Updates
(http://ethics.sandiego.edu)
Factasia Philosophy
(http://www.rbjones.com/rbjpub/philos)
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
(http://www.iep.utm.edu/)
Internet
Public Library: Philosophy
(http://www.ipl.org/div/subject/browse/hum70.00.00)
Islamic Philosophy Online
(http://www.muslimphilosophy.com)
Meta-Encyclopedia of
Philosophy
(http://www.ditext.com/encyc/frame.html)
Miniature
Library of Philosophy
(http://www.marxists.org/reference/subject/philosophy/index.htm)
Paideia Project Online
(http://www.bu.edu/wcp/PaidArch.html)
Philosophy
Around the Web
(http://users.ox.ac.uk/~worc0337/phil_index.html)
Philosophy Pages
(http://www.philosophypages.com/dy)
Scholarly
Societies Project: Philosophy
(http://www.lib.uwaterloo.ca/society/philos_soc.html)
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
(http://plato.stanford.edu)
University
of Chicago Philosophy Project
(http://csmaclab-www.uchicago.edu/philosophyProject/philos.html)
Voice of the Shuttle:
Philosophy
(http://vos.ucsb.edu/browse.asp?id=2724)
Window: Philosophy
on the Internet
(http://www.trincoll.edu/depts/phil/philo)
|
For a list of Web searching tools, see the Find: web resources
page (http://library.semo.edu/find/webpages.html).
|
|
[go
to top of page]
|
|
|
page developed by Information
Services/cp 5/2/08
|