|
|
|
Management
Information Systems |
This guide suggests resources and strategies for
research on management information systems, which typically are
computer-based, and which are used by an organization to promote the
communication of information within and between organizations.
|
| Contents of this
research guide |
Background
Information | Facts & Figures |
Find Articles | Find Books
|
Organizations | Web
Resources
|
|
|
|
| Background
Information (Overview Sources) |
Encyclopedias and other reference works are an
excellent place to start a research project or simply learn more about
a particular topic. They provide topic summaries, context, and
bibliographies for further reading.
| Encyclopedia of Information Systems |
R 004 En195 |
|
|
[go to top of
page] |
|
|
| Facts & Figures
(Fact Sources) |
Use dictionaries, statistical works, atlases,
handbooks and similar works to find and check facts about topics,
people, or events.
| Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Management
Information Systems |
R 658.4038011
B568 |
| Careers in Electronic Information: An
Insider's Guide to the Information Job Market |
R
331.702 W633c |
|
|
[go to top of
page] |
|
|
| Find Articles |
Search indexes, abstracts, and databases to find
journal, magazine, and newspaper articles. For a complete list of
Kent Library's online indexes and databases, see the
Find: articles page (http://library.semo.edu/find/articles.asp).
To find historical/source materials, use
the following print sources:
Business Periodicals Index
To find recent articles and scholarly/peer-reviewed articles
use the following online databases:
ABI Inform
Electric Library
Wilson Omnifile
|
|
[go to top of
page] |
|
|
| Find General
Collection Books |
Use the
Kent Library Catalog
(http://library.semo.edu/find/books.html) to find books, periodicals
(journals, magazines, & newspapers), videos, government documents and
other materials.
Keyword searches allow you to use your
own words as search terms.
Subject heading searches use Library of Congress subject
headings. Printed volumes of these headings are located near the
Reference Desk on the main floor. Subject headings include:
Management Information Systems
Data warehousing
Decision support systems
Information resources management
Information technology
Management communication systems
Office information systems
Project management
System analysis
|
Browse the shelves by call number. Use
the
Dewey Decimal chart (http://www.lib.duke.edu/libguide/fi_books_dd_list.htm)
to get you in the right subject areas or try the following:
004 Data processing Computer science
005 Computer programming, programs, data
006 Special computer methods
657 Accounting
658 General management
|
|
[go to top of
page] |
|
|
| Organizations |
Professional organizations and/or societies
often provide very useful topic related information.
Association of Information Technology
Professionals
http://www.aitp.org/index.jsp
Information Systems Audit and Control
Association
http://www.isaca.org/
|
|
[go to top of
page] |
|
|
| Web Resources |
World
List of Departments and Schools of Information Studies, Information
Management, Information Systems, etc.
http://informationr.net/wl/
Data Powers of Ten
http://www.sims.berkeley.edu/research/projects/how-much-info/datapowers.html
Web Links for Management and Information Systems
http://www-users.cs.york.ac.uk/~kimble/teaching/mis/mis_links.html
|
For a list of Web searching tools, see
the Find: web
resources page (http://library.semo.edu/find/webpages.html).
|
|
[go to top of
page] |
|
|
page developed by Information
Services/ PW
last updated: 11/30/05 |