http://library.semo.edu/images/riverboat.jpg
 
 
 
 

 

http://library.semo.edu/images/guide_title.jpg

.

 

Chemistry

This guide suggests resources and strategies for research on Chemistry.

Contents of this research guide

Background Information  |  Facts & Figures  |  Find Articles  |  Find Books  |   People  |  Organizations  |  Web Resources 


Background Information (Overview Sources)

Encyclopedias and other reference works are an excellent place to start a research project or simply learn more about a particular topic.  They provide topic summaries, context, and bibliographies for further reading.

Comprehensive Natural Products Chemistry (R 547.7 C73892)
Comprehensive Organic Chemistry
(R 547 C738)
A Dictionary of Chemistry
Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry
(R 546.03 En19)
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Chemistry
(R 540.3 M228)
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology
(R 503 M178)

[go to top of page]

 

Facts & Figures (Fact Sources)

Use dictionaries, statistical works, atlases, handbooks and similar works to find and check facts about topics, people, or events.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
(R 547.00212 C421)
Dean's Handbook of Organic Chemistry
(R 547 G561d2)
A Dictionary of Weights, Measures, and Units
Encyclopaedia of Scientific Units, Weights, and Measures
(R 530.812 C1783e)
The Facts on File Dictionary of Chemistry
(R 540.321 F119)
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary (R 540.3 C751h13)
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Chemistry (R 540.3 M178)
The Merck Index (R 615.103 M537)

[go to top of page]

 

Find Articles

Search indexes, abstracts, and databases to find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.  For a complete list of Kent Library's online indexes and databases, see the Find: articles page (http://library.semo.edu/find/articles.asp).

To find historical/source materials, such as newspaper and magazine articles,, use the following print sources:

Chemical Abstracts, 1907-1991
   (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
General Science Index, 1988+
  
(located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature, 1900+
   (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
New York Times Index, 1851+
   (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
Official Index to the Times & The Times Index, 1906+
   (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)

To find recent articles and scholarly/peer-reviewed articles use the following online databases:

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOHost)
ArticleFirst (FirstSearch)
Clinical Pharmacology (EBSCOHost)
MEDLINE (FirstSearch)

ProQuest Research Library
Wilson OmniFile

[go to top of page]

 

Find General Collection Books

Use the Kent Library Catalog (http://library.semo.edu/find/books.shtml) to find books, periodicals (journals, magazines, & newspapers), videos, government documents and other materials.

Keyword searches allow you to use your own words as search terms.
Subject heading searches use Library of Congress subject headings. Printed volumes of these headings are located near the Reference Desk on the main floor.

Some Chemistry subject headings include -
Biochemistry
Chemistry
Chemistry, Forensic
Chemistry, Inorganic
Chemistry, Organic
Chemistry, Physical and theoretical
Chemistry, Technical
Chemists

Browse the shelves by call number.  Use the Dewey Decimal chart (http://library.semo.edu/learn/guides/dewey100.shtml) to get you in the right subject areas or try the following:

540  Chemistry and allied sciences
541  Physical and theoretical chemistry
542  Techniques, equipment, materials
543  Analytical chemistry
544  Qualitative analysis
545  Quantitative analysis
546  Inorganic chemistry
547  Organic chemistry
548  Crystallography
549  Mineralogy

[go to top of page]

 

People

Learn about important people, such as authors, researchers & historical figures related to this topic or field.

American Men and Women of Science (R 925 Am35)
Asimov's Biographical Encyclopedia of Science and Technology (925 As42a2)
The Cambridge Dictionary of Scientists (R 925 C144)
Dictionary of Scientific Biography (R 925 D561)
A Dictionary of Scientists

[go to top of page]

 

Organizations

Professional organizations and/or societies often provide very useful topic related information.

American Chemical Society
   (http:\\www.acs.org)
Royal Society of Chemistry
   (http:\\www.rsc.org)

[go to top of page]

 

Web Resources

Chem.com
   (http://www.chem.com)
Chemcyclopedia
(http://journals.iranscience.net:800/Default/www.mediabrains.com/client/chemcyclop/BG1/search.asp)
ChemGuide
   (http://www.chemguide.co.uk)
ChemiCool Periodic Table
   (http://www.chemicool.com)
Chemistry (Caltech Library System)
   (http://library.caltech.edu/collections/chemistry.htm)
Classic Organic Reactions
   (http://www.chempensoftware.com/organicreactions.htm)
Eric Weisstein's World of Chemistry
   (http://scienceworld.wolfram.com/chemistry)
Haz-Map: Occupational Exposure to Hazardous Agents
   (http://hazmap.nlm.nih.gov)
Links for Chemists
   (http://www.liv.ac.uk/Chemistry/Links/links.html)
Organic Chemistry Resources Worldwide
   (http://www.organicworldwide.net)
PubChem
   (http://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov)
This Week in the History of Chemistry
   (http://web.lemoyne.edu/~giunta/week.html)
WebElements Periodic Table
  (http://www.webelements.com/webelements/scholar/index.html)

For a list of Web searching tools, see the Find: web resources page (http://library.semo.edu/find/webpages.html).

[go to top of page]

page developed by Information Services/ cp
last updated: 5/2/08