Kent Library

link to library account login
link to forms and policies page
link to the government documents page
link to interlibrary loan page
link to distance learner page
link to ask us page
link to library home page
link to A to Z page
link to freqently asked questions page
  Get link to Kent Library home page
graphic section with no links


Circulation Policies
for
Local Patrons

Local patron information needed for library circulation system
A Missouri resident must meet three criteria in order to be eligible to check out Kent Library materials: (1) have a valid Missouri driver's license or other form of legal photo identification (2) be 16 years of age (3) present a Social Security number.


High school students who are eligible to checkout materials and who visit as a member of a class should fill out a local patron service application form and submit it one week prior to the scheduled visit in order to facilitate check-out the day of the visit. 

Mail or Fax completed forms to:
          Circulation Desk - Kent Library
          Southeast Missouri State University
          One University Plaza, Mail Stop 4600
          Cape Girardeau, MO  63701

         
Fax:  (573) 651-2
666

After a local patron is entered into the library circulation system, the patron will need to present only their valid photo ID to check out library materials. In addition, the patron will be assigned a library system number, and the patron will be mailed a library card that includes a barcode with the system number.

Loan periods
for Local Patrons

Kent stack books, government documents, best sellers, youth books, audio books

Videos,  DVD's

CD's

21 days
One renewal

7 days
No renewal

14 days
No renewal

Borrowing limits for Local Patrons

Books, government documents

Videos, CD's, DVD's, audio books
10

3

Fine and cost policy fees for overdue, lost or Damaged Library Materials  for Local Patrons

Books, government documents

Videos, CD's, DVD's, audio books

$.25 per day
Billing 30 days
after due date

$1.00 per day
Billing 15 days
after due date

NOTE: Periodicals/Magazines and Reference books do not circulate.
(effective 12/17/01)

Fines begin accruing immediately when an item is overdue. However, if material is returned before billing date, only accrued fines are due. Materials not returned are charged $100 replacement fee and nonrefundable $20 billing fee.

On the billing date, all users with overdue materials are charged a $100 replacement fee and a nonrefundable $20 billing fee for each item.

If item is returned in good condition or an approved replacement copy is submitted within 90 days of billing date, the $100 replacement charge will be refunded. However, the $20 billing fee is not refundable.

After 90 days, the item will be withdrawn from the system and a returned or a replacement copy will not be accepted.

All accounts are payable to the Cashiers Office in accordance with University policy and the laws of the State of Missouri.


suggestions/contact | updated 10/25/2012 | M. Olsen